Graphics Interface  2014
May 7th to 9th, Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Call for Papers

Graphics Interface (GI), May 7-9, 2014, will be held in Montreal, Quebec. This will be the 40th Graphics Interface conference. GI is the oldest continuously-scheduled conference in the field, and attracts high-quality papers on recent advances in interactive systems, human-computer interaction, and graphics, from around the world. GI 2014 will be held in conjunction with the Computer and Robot Vision 2014 and Artificial Intelligence 2014 conferences. Registration will permit attendees to attend any keynote or talk in the three conferences, which will be scheduled in parallel tracks. The conference will also include an awards banquet and a posters and demos session.

Accepted papers will be archived in the ACM Digital Library. The Michael A. J. Sweeney Award will be awarded at the conference to the best student papers in graphics and HCI. Authors of best papers and other selected papers will be invited to submit extended and revised manuscripts to be considered, with partial continuity of reviewing, for journal publication in a special section of Computers and Graphics.

All paper submissions are fully peer reviewed by at least two members of the program committee and two external reviewers. Papers have a maximum length of eight pages. If the contribution warrants it, a longer paper may be submitted; however, pages beyond eight are subject to page charges. Papers as short as four pages can be accepted.

Graphics Interface 2014 will have joint sessions for the graphics and HCI tracks. Topics of interest at GI include, but are not restricted to the following:

  • interaction techniques
  • novel user interfaces
  • quantitative and qualitative evaluations
  • computer-supported collaborative work
  • data and information visualization
  • haptic and tangible interfaces
  • assistive technologies
  • ubiquitous computing
  • usable security and privacy
  • aesthetic design
  • perception
  • augmented reality
  • real-time rendering
  • image based techniques
  • computational photography and imaging
  • non-photo realistic rendering
  • modelling for fabrication
  • geometric modelling
  • medical visualization
  • scientific visualization
  • physically based animation
  • character animation
  • fluid simulation
  • virtual reality
Authors must request that their submissions be handled by either the graphics or HCI sub-committee. In exceptional cases where significant overlap exists, a submission may be reviewed by members of both sub-committees.

Summary of Deadlines

  • Papers submission: December 18, 2013, 11:59 pm PST
  • Author notification: February 20, 2014
  • Final papers due: March 10, 2014
  • Posters and demos submission: March 14, 2014, 11:59 pm PST
  • Poster notification: March 25, 2014

Program Co-Chairs

  • Paul G. Kry, Graphics Co-Chair, McGill University, kry [at] cs mcgill ca
  • Andrea Bunt, HCI Co-Chair, University of Manitoba, bunt [at] cs umanitoba ca

Program Committee

  • Alain Forget, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Anthony Tang, University of Calgary
  • Baining Guo, Microsoft Research Asia
  • Carl Gutwin, University of Saskatchewan
  • Christopher Collins, University of Ontario Institute of Technology
  • Daniel Vogel, University of Waterloo
  • David Mould, Carleton University
  • Derek Nowrouzezahrai, University of Montreal
  • Emily Whiting, ETH Zürich
  • Eric Paquette, École de Technologie Supérieure
  • Eugene Fiume, University of Toronto
  • Faramarz Samavati, University of Calgary
  • Ian Stavness , University of Saskatchewan
  • Jaime Ruiz, Colorado State University
  • Jim Young, University of Manitoba
  • Karan Singh, University of Toronto
  • Karyn Moffatt, McGill University
  • Lennart Nacke, University of Ontario Institute of Technology
  • Lisa Anthony, University of Florida
  • Marie-Paule Cani, Grenoble Institute of Technology / INRIA
  • Manfred Lau, Lancaster University
  • Michael McGuffin, École de Technologie Supérieure
  • Michael Terry, University of Waterloo
  • Pierre Poulin, University of Montreal
  • Richard Zhang, Simon Fraser University
  • Scott Bateman, University of Prince Edward Island
  • Stephen Brooks, Dalhousie University
  • Torsten Möller, University of Vienna
  • Usman Alim, University of Calgary


Sponsored by the Canadian Human-Computer Communications Society