The 2nd International Workshop on Cyber-Physical Systems (WCPS 2009)

June 22, 2009    Montreal, Quebec, Canada


June 22, 2009

7:00-8:00   Workshop Registration

8:00-9:00   Breakfast

9:00-9:10   Welcome from the WCPS organizers 

9:15-10:30  Keynote Speech by Professor Ragunathan "Raj" Rajkumar, CMU
Title: Research Challenges for Cyber-Physical Systems
Abstract:  This talk will outline a vision for cyber-physical systems.  Research challenges will be discussed, along with some insights into emerging capabilities and potential impact.

10:30-11:00  Coffee Break

11:00-12:40 Session 1: (Chair: Prof. Steve Goddard)
  • Joint Sleep Scheduling and Mode Assignment in WirelessCyber-Physical Systems
    by Chun Xue, Guoliang Xing, Zhaohui Yuan, Zili Shao and Edwin Sha

  • PNet: A Grid type Sensor Network of Reconfigurable Nodes
    by Varun Subramanian and Alex Doboli 

  • Challenges Towards Elastic Power Management in Internet Data Centers
    by Jie Liu, Feng Zhao, Xue Liu, Wenbo He
  • Adaptive Data Replication for Load Sharing in a Sensor Data Center
    by Kyoung-Don Kang and Can Basaran

12:40-14:00  Lunch Break

14:00-15:40 Session 2: (Chair: Prof. Wenbo He)

  • Comparision of FieldBus Systems, CAN, TTCAN, FlexRay and LIN in Passenger Vehicles
    by Steve Talbot and Shangping Ren.

  • Automatic Mobile Vehicle for Adaptive Real-time Communication  Relay
    by Hai Hu, Furong Wang, Fan Zhang and Weijia Jia

  • Embedded Virtual Machines for Robust Wireless Control Systems
    by Rahul Mangharam and Miroslav Pajic

  • Event Model for Cyber-Physical Systems
    by Ying Tan, Mehmet Can Vuran and Steve Goddard

15:40-16:00 Coffee Break

16:00-17:40 Session 3: (Chair: Prof. Rahul Mangharam )

  • A dynamic battery model for co-design in cyber-physical systems
    by Fumin Zhang, Zhenwu Shi and Wayne Wolf

  • The Case for Timing-Centric Distributed Software
    by Edward A. Lee, Slobodan Matic, Sanjit A. Seshia, and Jia Zou 

  • A Cluster-based Protocol To Enforce Integrity and Preserve Privacy in
    Data Aggregation
    by Wenbo He, Xue Liu, Hoang Nguyen and Klara Nahrstedt 

  • An Approach to Middleware Specialization for Cyber Physical Systems
    by Akshay Dabholkar and Aniruddha Gokhale

17:40-18:00  Concluding Remarks and  Discussions

18:00  Workshop Ends